PDA

View Full Version : Is Centre St Deli good?

1argoholic
05-23-2014, 02:20 PM
I think I brought the topic of Jewish Deli's up before but I'd like to try this one out. I drove my wife to Pearson last night along Hwy 7 so I could hit Nova European Deli on Langstaff near Weston Rd. It was a killer little deli/store for my needs. Great baked cheesecake etc.

Next week I'd like to stop at Center St if it's good.

Just found out that I have distant Jewish roots thanks to a genetic DNA test. Ukie, Belorus, touch of Middle Eastern, Jewish, etc. Cool stuff as my cousin who's big into this keeps digging deeper for me. Jewish Tribes which was a new term for me.

I come by my love of ethnic foods honestly.

Thanks.

Will
05-23-2014, 02:55 PM
I have been eating at Centre Street Deli since it opened in 1988 and have lived within walking distance of the restaurant since 1989. One owner of the restaurant is the daughter of the owner of Snowdon Deli in Montreal, which if one of the better delis there, and the other owner worked at Snowdon Deli where, in fact, his brother still works. Their specialty is Smoked Meat and while it doesn't quite line up with some of the best delis in Montreal (don't waste your time at Schwartz's because it is crap) it is still very, very good and the best in Toronto. I would recommend the medium-fat sandwich, old fashioned. It has a bit of a kick and the fat adds a nice flavor to it. You can get lean if your health conscious, but your very presence at the deli precludes health conscious anyways. It is worth the trip.

1argoholic
05-23-2014, 03:17 PM
Very good news that it's good eats. I pick my wife up at Pearson next Friday at 4pm and that will be our stop for eats.