PDA

View Full Version : Bruce Campbell retires

paulwoods13
05-03-2016, 11:46 AM
Barker looking pretty smart.

http://3downnation.com/2016/05/03/riders-american-offensive-tackle-retires/

jerrym
05-03-2016, 12:15 PM
I wonder if the serious disease he had earlier in his life or injuries have taken their toll on Campbel at a relatively young football age or if he wasn't comfortable playing in Canada and Barker had some sense of this.

Campbell was a high school standout in both basketball and football, but during his sophomore year he was diagnosed with Chiari malformation, a rare disease where tissues in the brain can extend into the spinal column. He was told it was serious, he would need surgery and he faced a very uncertain future.
“It was going to happen, it was going to happen no matter what so I needed to have [surgery],” Campbell told Metro New York. “Basically — and I'm no doctor — but basically my spine and my skull stayed the same length as I was growing. And it needs to separate so the brain fluid can flow properly to my head. I was told I needed to have that surgery so I really didn't have a choice.”
Campbell was told before the surgery he might never play sports again — right as colleges were beginning to show interest in the sophomore as a basketball or football player. The surgery took place during his sophomore year and caused him to miss “a month-and-a-half” until he was finally able to walk again. But there were no serious complications and no red flags that would keep him from resuming a normal life again — including sports.
“I was able to come back and play both sports again, no limitations,” Campbell said. “That was great to be able to do that, to go on the field, go on the court and play. Just be a normal kid.”